Adult Site Reviews

Advanced Search

Top Company Sites

1. Homegrown Video 87.5
2. Alternadudes 82.0
3. Homegrown Anal ... 76.0
4. Homegrown Wives 75.0
5. Homegrown Big C... 75.0
6. Homegrown Outdo... 70.0
7. Homegrown Hairy... 68.5
8. Homegrown GFs 68.0
9. Homegrown Cream... 68.0

View All : Company Sites

Top Gay Sites

1. VideoBox Men 90.0
2. Blake Mason 89.0
3. Next Door World 88.5
4. Randy Blue 87.5
5. Cocky Boys 87.0
6. English Lads 87.0
7. BF Collection 87.0
8. William Higgins 86.5
9. Staxus 86.0
10. Gay Room 85.5
11. Sean Cody 85.5
12. Men.com 85.0
13. Chaos Men 85.0
14. Butch Dixon 84.5
15. Bound Gods 84.5

View All : Gay Sites
Related Niches

1. Tranny - 508 Sites
2. Lesbian - 400 Sites
3. Anal - 303 Sites
4. Bi-Sexual - 51 Sites
5. For Women - 22 Sites

View All : Niches
The Best Porn » Top Porn Sites » Alternadudes » Spencer's Review
Last Update: 12-31-69
Jump To: Site Facts - Review

Alternadudes

Pay Site

This site features hot alternative gay guys..."the antithesis of the jock," rockers, punks, goths and others.


Primary Niche: Gay Porn

past review An archived review which has since been replaced by a newer review.

81.0
great



Downloads:
Streaming:
Interface:
Pic Count:
Pic Quality:
Vid Count:
Vid Quality:
Content:

Grades have no direct impact on the overall score.

Grade Criteria


Review Log
Maggie
12-04-2013
82.0
Vanessa
11-20-2012
84.0
Duke
05-09-2012
82.5
Spencer
08-01-2010
81.0
Maggie
10-13-2009
76.0

  Visit Site


Disclaimer: TBP does make a commission from sales to this web-site. It's also how we keep our site 100% banner free. This does not affect the integrity of the review. If you found our site or this review helpful, we hope you'll support TBP by visiting this site from our link above. Thank you.
Alternadudes Review by Spencer Alternadudes

Review by Spencer

Released Aug 1, '10 , Written Jul 27, '10
Intro

Alternadudes is up for review today, and this is a nice little niche gay site here. It's rather new, opening up just over a year ago. They bring in alternative/punk type guys, with tattoos, piercings, or just a different look to them, and have them pose and fuck on camera. There's a good mix of solo and hardcore play here, and the guys are all generally on the young side (18-25 usually), and in good shape. There are quite a few similar sites that are successful on the straight side, so I like the idea of something like this in the gay world. It'll cost you $30 to get in for the first month, and then just $20 a month after that.


The Pros

  Unique gay content.

The actual gay part of the content is pretty standard, with dudes jacking off solo, and fucking other guys as well. However, when you mix in the type of guys that they feature here, things get fun. The alternative aspect of the site makes for some different personalities than you're used to seeing, which can only be a good thing.

  Newer videos offered in HD.

The switch over to high definition videos definitely helped things out here. The content looks pretty good all around for the newer scenes, and I look forward to when the HD videos outnumber the SD variants.

Other Good Stuff:

  • Of course, the content is exclusive here, as expected. It looks like they shoot all of their own content.
  • Updates come weekly here with a new scene. I'd love to see even more updates, but at least the site grows pretty consistently.
  • I like that they have bios available for the models. A site like this really benefits from adding some personality to the mix like that.
  • The streaming player is pretty cool here (once you find it - see below in cons). They have four quality options, the streams play pretty fast, and they even offer a filmstrip for navigation, which is impressive.

The Cons

  Could still use some growth.

At just around 70 scenes or so, this site still isn't very large. At least it's not tiny anymore, thanks to the updates from the last year, but there's still a ways to go. Once they get into the 200-300 scene range, then we'll be talking about a decent-sized collection.

Minor Negatives:

  • Of course, the older quality isn't quite as good here as the newer stuff. Videos are smaller, and pictures come in vidcap format only.
  • The streaming video option is almost hidden. You don't really see any mention of it, but if you click the video preview image, it opens up a page with a pretty slick streaming interface.
  • I like that they offer the tag cloud for narrowing the content a bit, but the way it's setup currently is a bit awkward. I'd rather have them on a search page of some type to be able to find them all better, and maybe choose more than one at a time.
  • The downloads came a bit slow here for me. This is mostly due to the fact that you can't use a download manager, so you're stuck with whatever your browser can pull, which was about 1/6th of our max speed for me.

Bottom Line

A nice start, but it's still going to take some time to really get some growth going.

It sounds like Alternadudes is better off than they were a year ago, but it'll still take some time for them to really build up a sizable collection to really make a mark out there. The idea for the site is great, and the content coming out now is definitely better than it was early on. The HD videos help a lot, and hopefully they'll stick with actual photos (compared to vidcaps). They really need more content, and even at weekly updates, it's going to take some definite time to get into a better numbers range. I think the site could be polished up a bit, bringing a little fancier graphics/design choices, and maybe a few more options. Otherwise, I think their base is solid, and look forward to seeing where it goes over the next year or two.

Site Details

About the Content: 
Downloadable exclusive scenes featuring alternative guys (think tattoos and piercings) jacking off solo, and hooking up with other guys in hardcore scenes.

Download Managers: 
Not really.
Channel Max: 1
Able to pause/resume.
Test Software: IDM

Download Speed: 
Download Mgr: N/A
Browser: 1.3MB/sec.
(424MB video, 50Mbps cable internet)

Exclusive Info: 
Advertised: 100% exclusive.
My Opinion: Yes, it looks like they shoot all their own content here.

File Sizes (HQ): 
JPG = ~300KB
ZIP = ~25MB
WMV = ~250MB
MP4 = ~400MB
(average size, HQ)

HD Video: 
Yes, latest videos (15%).
File Type: MP4 (h.264)
Bit-Rate: 4400k
Dimensions: 1280x736
Quality: Not perfect, but not bad overall.

Live Cams: 
No free live cam shows.

Logging In: 
Only user/pw required.
Saved after closing browser.
Videos don't require pw.
Very easy!

Model Appearance: 
Mostly white models.
Generally amateur-looking.
Body types from thin to muscular.

Model Info: 
61 models total.
Ages 18-30.

Other Content: 
Behind the scenes.
Wallpapers.

Other Details: 
Condoms for most hardcore.
Soft music in some videos.

Pic Details: 
Semi-pro photography.
Little to no airbrushing.
Good lighting, bright colors.

Pic Dimensions (HQ): 
Recent = 2000 x 1100
Sizes vary a little.
Older sets only offer vidcaps.

Streaming Player: 
No in-browser playback available.

Updates in Last 7 Days: 
1 image gallery.
1 full video episode.
(on par with previous updates)


Re-Review Status
Just Released!

New review published recently. Eligible for new review after Jun 4, 2014.
We have an active member pass required to do a new review.

Nominate!
  • Eligible for new review after 06-04-14.
  • Submit Nomination to improve its chance for review.

Back to: Current Alternadudes Review


Contact Us - FAQ's - Glossary - Announcements - Privacy Policy - Porn Reviews - Webmasters

DISCLAIMER: ALL MODELS APPEARING ON THIS WEBSITE ARE 18 YEARS OR OLDER.

Protecting Minors
We are strong supporters of RTA and ICRA, two of the most recognized self labeling organizations. Our site is properly labeled to assist in the protection of minors accessing inappopriate content. For information about filtering tools, check this site.

To report child pornography, go directly to ASACP!  We're proud to be a corporate sponsor.
Have concerns or questions about porn addiction?  We recommend this helpful resource.

Copyright © 2003-2007 Ranks.com, Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.