Adult Site Reviews

Advanced Search

Top Company Sites

1. Reality Kings 94.0
2. Brazzers 91.5
3. Twistys 90.0
4. Mofos Network 89.5
5. Reality Kings M... 87.0
6. Playboy Plus 87.0
7. Big Naturals 86.0
8. Round and Brown 86.0
9. Mommy Got Boobs 86.0
10. Babes Network.c... 86.0
11. Baby Got Boobs 85.5
12. Big Wet Butts 85.5
13. Big Tits At Wor... 85.0
14. Mike's Apartmen... 85.0
15. Twistys Mobile 85.0

View All : Company Sites

Top DVDs Sites

1. VideoBox 93.5
2. VideosZ 92.5
3. Tainster 89.0
4. Wicked Pictures 88.0
5. Zero Tolerance ... 87.0
6. Elegant Angel 86.5
7. Third Movies 86.5
8. Homegrown Video 86.0
9. AEBN Video On D... 85.0
10. Evil Angel 85.0
11. Adult DVD Empir... 85.0
12. Adult Empire.co... 84.0
13. Doghouse Digita... 84.0
14. Lethal Hardcore 84.0
15. Hot Movies 84.0

View All : DVDs Sites
Related Niches

1. Videos - 2230 Sites
2. High Def - 403 Sites

View All : Niches
The Best Porn » Top Porn Sites » Movie Box » Duke's Review
Last Update: 12-31-69
Jump To: Site Facts - Review

Movie Box

Pay Site

This site offers a good selection of high-quality movies in various niches for your viewing pleasure.


Primary Niche: DVD Porn
Secondary Niches: Porn VideosHardcore Sex

past review An archived review which has since been replaced by a newer review.

86.0
excellent



Downloads:
Streaming:
Interface:
Vid Count:
Vid Quality:
Content:

Grades have no direct impact on the overall score.

Grade Criteria


Review Log
Duke
06-17-2014
83.0
Maggie
02-16-2013
86.0
Vanessa
01-21-2012
86.0
Spencer
03-14-2011
86.0
Duke
04-24-2010
86.0
Maggie
09-29-2009
88.0

  Visit Site


Disclaimer: TBP does make a commission from sales to this web-site. It's also how we keep our site 100% banner free. This does not affect the integrity of the review. If you found our site or this review helpful, we hope you'll support TBP by visiting this site from our link above. Thank you.
Movie Box Review by Duke Movie Box

Review by Duke

Released Apr 24, '10 , Written Apr 20, '10
Intro

Movie Box is a DVD/video download site with thousands of full length titles in their archive. Geared towards a general hardcore audience the collection covers popular niches with hardcore movies off all kinds from many different studios. It's the type of collection you'd expect to see from a big DVD download site. The guest tour is an open book style layout meaning visitors can browse the content, niche sections, and model index in order to get a feel for the scope of the collection and what's included. This is a monthly membership site giving access to their main archive (aka Regular DVDs) and then they members can access HD DVDs and/or Premium DVDs by purchasing credits. Basically Movie Box is a hybrid in that members can access the majority of content with the basic monthly membership and then there are premium PPV services also sold here.


The Pros

  Big Hardcore Archive, Thousands of Full-Length DVDs.

For any movie download site the size of the archive is a key factor to consider. Movie Box has thousands of full-length DVDs each of which contains any number of individual scenes. There is just a lot to see here from all sorts of studios featuring tons of pornstars in hardcore action of all kinds. The vast majority of the videos are delegated as 'Regular DVDs' available to basic monthly members.

  Fast Download Speeds, Full-Scene Files in WMV & Addt'l Formats.

The movie download speed really stood out as a positive because it really is faster than I see from most of the other site I look at. On my 20MB connection I was able to save the movies at 1.7-1.9MB/sec for browser downloads and 3.5MB/sec with my download manager (test software: IDM). The formats are straightforward with full-scene WMV, MPEG, h.264, and MP4 files. There are clip segments as well as the full-files.

  Many DVDs Added Daily, Movies/Scenes are Date-Stamped.

Updates are a real positive here as they add 10 new movies each day. That's the kind of pace you like to see from a site with non-exclusive material whose goal is to have a large library for members. Movies and scenes are date-stamped with a release date so it's possible to see when any given video was added to the site.

Other Good Stuff:

  • The design is professional with straightforward navigation tools like browsing by niche, pornstar, and studio.
  • The in-browser Flash streaming loads/buffers almost instantly, allows for immediate jumping ahead, and has filmstrip navigation.
  • Clear file size information is posted for each movie.
  • These guys have set up a special discount monthly price for TBP users which makes the cost lower than their standard rate.

The Cons

  Premium & HD Streaming Movies Cost Extra, PPV Credit System.

Movie Box doesn't just have a basic monthly membership but they also incorporate PPV services through a token system. Both Premium DVDs and HD DVDs are available only for members who pay extra. Some other DVD download sites have higher rates for HD level files but Movie Box's premium services are a pretty big part of the system here. For me the most frustrating part is browsing the niche listing or model index only to find the titles or scenes I want to see are only available as a premium service.

  Regular DVDs Have Average Video Quality/Specs.

The movie formats for the Regular DVDs are only average for a paysite and I think many surfers would want more from a dedicated DVD download site of this kind. Of course Movie Box wants to encourage use of the premium HD and Premium services so having higher res files here would be a conflict for them.

  Limited Niche Breakdown, Text-Only Model Index.

While I like the overall design these two navigation features came up a bit short. With thousands of titles the niche breakdown is pretty broad and there's room for more details categorization. The model index is text only for the vast majority of girls other than the most popular models. There is a keyword search but no advanced search/filter tool.

Minor Negatives:

  • As with most DVD download sitse the collection is non-exclusive content with material from many studios.
  • The trial membership provides partial access and it recurs at a price higher than the TBP discount or even their standard rate.

Bottom Line

A huge DVD download site with 1000's of titles for regular members plus a PPV set-up for premium DVDs & HD movies.

Movie Box has tons of movies for a hardcore audience and is a quality collection for those who stick to the basic monthly membership. The PPV service does come into play especially when browsing the collection through the model index or niche categories since you are likely to run into some scenes that are only available as for the Premium fee. This credit based system is a big part of the site so potential members should pay attention to that part of the set-up.

Site Details

About the Content: 
Downloadable non-exclusive hardcore DVDs in popular & specialty niche categories.

Download Managers: 
Yes, should work.
Channel Max: 8
Able to pause/resume.
Test Software: IDM

Download Speed: 
Download Mgr: 3.5MB/sec.
Browser: 1.7-1.9MB/sec.
(293MB video, 20Mbps cable internet)

Exclusive Info: 
Advertised: Not exclusive.
My Opinion: Mostly non-exclusive DVDs from many studios.

File Sizes (HQ): 
WMV = ~150-300MB
MPG = ~150-300MB
MP4 = ~50-100MB
(average size, HQ)

HD Video: 
HD Flash DVDs for an additional premium fee.

Logging In: 
Only user/pwd required.
On-site login fields.
Doesn't save after closing browser.
Videos don't require pwd.

Model Appearance: 
Mix of all ethnicities.
Pornstar & amateur looking.
Thin & sexy body types.

Model Info: 
1000's of models total.
Ages 18-40.
Mostly U.S. based.

Streaming Player: 
Large Flash player.
Can jump ahead immediately.
1-3 second buffer.
Smooth playback.
High quality.
Film strip navigation.

Updates in Last 7 Days: 
70 DVDs.
(10 DVDs added daily)


Re-Review Status
Review Completed

New review has been completed on Feb 11, 2013 and will be released in less than a week.
We do not have an active member pass required to do a new review.

Nominate!

Back to: Current Movie Box Review


Contact Us - FAQ's - Glossary - Announcements - Privacy Policy - Porn Reviews - Webmasters

DISCLAIMER: ALL MODELS APPEARING ON THIS WEBSITE ARE 18 YEARS OR OLDER.

Protecting Minors
We are strong supporters of RTA and ICRA, two of the most recognized self labeling organizations. Our site is properly labeled to assist in the protection of minors accessing inappopriate content. For information about filtering tools, check this site.

To report child pornography, go directly to ASACP!  We're proud to be a corporate sponsor.
Have concerns or questions about porn addiction?  We recommend this helpful resource.

Copyright © 2003-2007 Ranks.com, Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.