Adult Site Reviews

Advanced Search

Top Company Sites

1. VideoBox 95.5
2. VideoBox Men 90.0

View All : Company Sites

Top Gay Sites

1. VideoBox Men 90.0
2. Blake Mason 89.0
3. Next Door World 88.5
4. Randy Blue 87.5
5. English Lads 87.0
6. BF Collection 87.0
7. William Higgins 86.5
8. Staxus 86.0
9. Gay Room 85.5
10. Sean Cody 85.5
11. Str8 Hell 85.0
12. Broke Straight ... 85.0
13. Men.com 85.0
14. Chaos Men 85.0
15. Cocky Boys 84.5

View All : Gay Sites
Related Niches

1. Tranny - 512 Sites
2. Lesbian - 398 Sites
3. Anal - 303 Sites
4. Bi-Sexual - 50 Sites
5. For Women - 22 Sites

View All : Niches
The Best Porn » Top Porn Sites » VideoBox Men Review
Last Update: 02-15-14
Jump To: Site Facts - Review

VideoBox Men

Pay Site

Gay Video Box continues the simple, well-designed video sites of Adult Platform with an good collection of high quality gay dvd videos for an inexpensive price. It's dirt cheap and the quality of video is awesome.


Primary Niche: Gay Porn

Site Facts All the glorious stats and details about videoboxmen.com.

Cost & Billing

Monthly: $15.00 (recurring)
Multi-Mo: $60.00 (6 months, recurring)
1 Year: $96.00 (recurring)
CC Processor: No Independent Merchant
Notes: Regional pricing does apply.
Screen Caps: USA Join Pages - Euro Join Pages (taken on 09-24-2012)

Videos

Quantity: 2,434+ DVDs
Format #1: Flash (in-browser), bit unknown, 640x480 (streaming)
Format #2: WMV (.wmv), 3000k, 852x480 (downloadable)
Format #3: H.264 (.mp4,.mov), 1200k, 852x480 (downloadable)
Notes: Formats are for latest movies and mobile formats available; older movies may have smaller specs.

Misc

Exclusivity: The content is not exclusive (content can be found on other sites, but rarely at this quality).
Download Limit: There is no download limit!
Dates

Site Launched: Apr 2006
Facts Updated: 02-05-14
Listed Date: Apr '06

Content Updates

Update Log: No
Content Dated: Yes
Last Content Update:
02-05-14 (as of 02-05-14)
Details: About one DVD added per day but user reports they may currently be re-releasing movies from existing archives and counts decreased since Nov.

Company Info

Adult Platform Inc.
2 Sites Listed
Partner: Adult Platform

Important
  • Max of ten connections allowed. 8-2013: User reports they may currently be re-releasing movies from exisitng archives.


Report Errors


To understand all the info above, check out our Site Facts Glossary.


Review Our most detailed review format ever!

90.0
awesome



Downloads:
Streaming:
Interface:
Vid Count:
Vid Quality:
Content:

Grades have no direct impact on the overall score.

Grade Criteria


Review Log
Vanessa
02-15-2014
90.0
Spencer
06-08-2013
91.5
Duke
05-15-2012
91.0
Maggie
04-24-2011
91.0
Vanessa
09-12-2009
93.0

  Visit Site


Disclaimer: TBP does make a commission from sales to this web-site. It's also how we keep our site 100% banner free. This does not affect the integrity of the review. If you found our site or this review helpful, we hope you'll support TBP by visiting this site from our link above. Thank you.
VideoBox Men Review by Vanessa VideoBox Men

Review by Vanessa

Released Feb 15, '14 , Written Feb 10, '14
Intro

VideoBox Men is a DVD lover's dream for all things gay porno. A spin off from their main DVD site VideoBox, this gay version has successfully carried over the same detailed and top-notch design/format to bring fans an equally successful site. You'll find some of great Studio names like Factory Video & Macho Man, but more than that you'll find over 2,440 DVD's featured in super high quality format with so many viewing options you won't know what to do with yourself. They may not be added a new DVD daily like they used to, but with so much to see I doubt users will be at a loss for new material. Since my last visit they've done away with the premium membership level, which means all users can get in on the action for a low $15 bucks per month, giving access to all the great scenes in super high quality.


The Pros

  Large Collection of Gay DVD Content.

VideoBox Men offers a massive library for its users. There are currently 2,441 full-length DVD's (11,261 scenes) in their collection. Between the 60-something niche categories users are likely to find exactly what they're in the mood for, and even some rarities like autofellatio, vintage scenes, watersports, cum eating, glory holes and more.

  Quality Videos/Downloads.

DVD quality videos are some of the best around with streams as high as 8000k (720x480), although many times the bitrates are closer to 6000k (640x480) and even sometimes 3000k, which is still looking nice.

  Great Download Options.

Members have plenty of choices for how they want to watch their movies. There are three WMV options, along with an mp4 (H.264) and iPhone file. You can also create custom downloads, starting and stopping at the exact points in the scene that you choose.

  Awesome Streaming Player.

Similar to the custom downloads, you can also create custom streams. Using the filmstrip, you choose where in the action you want your stream to begin and where you want it to end. With the instant buffering, there's no delay to enjoying your favorite parts of all the scenes.

  Advanced Navigation.

The site design and navigational options are second to none. Users can browse by category, stars, studios, and or series with multiple filters that allow you to find some very specific content based on your requirements (you can even subtract things you don't want to see in your results using the cool new or - system). A 5 star rating system has is in place, and enables members to rate scenes and browse personal recommendations based on those ratings and favorites.

Other Good Stuff:

  • Some of the more advanced features include the favorites folder called "my stash" which allows for multiple filing folders to keep things organized. The new Flow Mode tool is a cool way to get ideas for scenes to watch all the while filtering through certain specifics - it's cool - try it!
  • Plenty of info is available about each scene. They list the stars, director, categories, studio, date added, scene lengths, and individual file sizes.
  • Fair price. Just $15 bucks per month for DVD quality videos, and a lot of them.
  • It looks like 1 new DVD is being added daily. While this is much less than when I last reviewed this site, it's still generous update schedule.

The Cons

  Non-Exclusive DVD Content.

As with most of the large collection DVD sites, the videos here are non-exclusive and can likely be found elsewhere online. They have their premium channels (see below), but they'll cost you extra, and still aren't even 100% exclusive.

  Lack of HD Content.

Smallish # of HD video content. Really, there are just about 38 scenes here with HD specs and these were added in 2012. Considering Video Box (Men ) has always been ahead of the curve in terms of quality and design, I'm surprised not to see more of these.

  Quality is Average.

For most of the scenes here I didn't find specs and quality to be all that great. It was a bit confusing for me since I've always associated VideoBox with such great quality compared to their competitors. While it wasn't bad, it was still simply average overall.

Minor Negatives:

  • Inconsistent video quality. Some movies play at up to 9000k while most scenes are much less than half that.
  • There is some question as to true update schedule considering the content counts don't seem to increase as much as they should be these days.
  • There is no way to separate out the smallish number of HD scenes from the rest of the content, unless you search for HD.

Bottom Line

Still a must join for gay DVD content but I hope to see more HD next time.

While I still think VideoBox and VideoBox Men is the epitome for DVD porno viewing and downloading online, I was somewhat surprised by the lack of improvements here. I guess I was expecting even more HD scenes with the same (or even improved) browsing and download/viewing options. Instead what I found was a site that updates less than is used to, hasn't improved on quality or design. While the design is still a large step above average, I guess I was hoping for more in terms of quality. VideoBox remains a must join on my list for all it does offer, but I hope to see improvements in the future based on my experience this time around.

Site Details

About the Content: 
Downloadable non-exclusive hardcore gay DVD's in popular & specialty niche categories.

Download Managers: 
Yes, should work.
Channel Max: 8
Can pause/resume.
Test Software: IDM

Download Speed: 
Download Mgr: 1.7MB/sec.
Browser: 400K/sec.
(136MB video, 20Mbps cable internet)

Exclusive Info: 
Advertised: Some original, but mostly non-exclusive
My Opinion: Big-name DVDs that can be found elsewhere.

File Sizes (HQ): 
WMV = 200MB-1.5GB
H.264 = 250MB-900MB
iPhone = 100MB-200MB

HD Video: 
Yes, some videos (38).
File Type: MP4 (h.264)
Bit-Rate: 6000k
Dimensions: 1280x720
Quality: Pretty good overall.

Logging In: 
Only user/pw required.
Saved after closing browser.
Videos don't require pw.
Very easy!

Model Info: 
No exclusive models.
DVD studio content.

Other Content: 
No notable extras.

Other Details: 
Favorites/stash folder.
Recommend scenes (based on your ratings of your previously viewed scenes).
Some user ratings/comments.
Custom scene downloads.
Soft music in some videos.
Condoms used in some videos.
Foreign languages spoken in some videos/subtitles.

Pic Details: 
No pictures available.

Streaming Player: 
Large flash player.
Can jump ahead immediately.
Instant second buffer.
Smooth playback.
Average to above average quality.
Film strip navigation!

Updates in Last 7 Days: 
32 new scenes from 7 DVDs.
(on par with previous updates)


Re-Review Status
No Plans Yet

Nominate this site (see the nominate box) if you'd like to see a new review.
We have an active member pass required to do a new review.

Nominate!

User Feedback Most recent user reviews and comments, up to 10 each displayed.

N/A

Breakdown
Reviews: 0
Comments: 1
Ratings: 0

Register to submit your reviews and comments.
Recent Reviews (0)

Score User Replies Date
80 pornpearls (0) 0 02-04-11
85 nymano (10) 0 08-02-10

Submit : Add ReviewAdd Comment


Comments (1)

Comment Title / Date
"It never ends"
08-26-09 (0 Replies)

View All: User Reviews & Comments (1)


Outside Reviews
Scores from other online adult review sites.

Date Site Name Score
03-25-14 BananaGuide 79 of 100
01-08-14 Honest Porn Reviews 8.8 of 10
10-11-12 Porn Paysites .net 74 of 100
04-09-14 Porn Inspector 4.6 of 5
10-23-12 Gay Demon 74 of 100
06-19-12 Rabbit's Reviews 84 of 100
Average Score: 81.8

Outside Review dates and scores are submitted to us directly by the approved review site periodically. We have limited control over the scores displayed.


Contact Us - FAQ's - Glossary - Announcements - Privacy Policy - Porn Reviews - Webmasters

DISCLAIMER: ALL MODELS APPEARING ON THIS WEBSITE ARE 18 YEARS OR OLDER.

Protecting Minors
We are strong supporters of RTA and ICRA, two of the most recognized self labeling organizations. Our site is properly labeled to assist in the protection of minors accessing inappopriate content. For information about filtering tools, check this site.

To report child pornography, go directly to ASACP!  We're proud to be a corporate sponsor.
Have concerns or questions about porn addiction?  We recommend this helpful resource.

Copyright © 2003-2007 Ranks.com, Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.


Last Update: 02-15-14