Adult Site Reviews

Advanced Search

Top Company Sites

1. Southern Stroke... 79.0

View All : Company Sites

Top Gay Sites

1. VideoBox Men 90.0
2. Blake Mason 89.0
3. Next Door World... 88.5
4. Randy Blue 87.5
5. English Lads 87.0
6. BF Collection 87.0
7. William Higgins 86.5
8. Staxus 86.0
9. Gay Room 85.5
10. Sean Cody 85.5
11. Str8 Hell 85.0
12. Broke Straight ... 85.0
13. Men.com 85.0
14. Chaos Men 85.0
15. Cocky Boys 84.5

View All : Gay Sites
Related Niches

1. Tranny - 504 Sites
2. Lesbian - 391 Sites
3. Anal - 294 Sites
4. Bi-Sexual - 47 Sites
5. For Women - 22 Sites

View All : Niches
The Best Porn » Top Porn Sites » Southern Strokes Review
Last Update: 09-12-12
Jump To: Site Facts - Review

Southern Strokes

Pay Site

This site features really cute guys from the American South, posing in a variety of seductive ways for the camera.


Primary Niche: Gay Porn

Site Facts All the glorious stats and details about southernstrokes.com.

Cost & Billing

Trial: $19.95 (3 days, recurs $26.95/mo.)
Monthly: $26.95 (recurring)
Monthly: $39.95 (non-recurring)
Multi-Mo: $69.95 (3 mo. recurs $59.95/3 mo.)
Payment: Discover, JCB, Mastercard, Online Check, VISA
CC Processor: Primary: CCBill

Videos

Quantity: 379+ Scenes (approx. 14 min. each)
Format #1: WMV (.wmv), 2600k, 1280x720 (downloadable)
Format #2: MOV (.mov), 1600k, 640x360 (downloadable)
Notes: Formats are for latest movies; older movies may have smaller/different specs.

Images

Quantity: 379+ Galleries (avg. 40 pics each)
Zip Files: Yes

Misc

Exclusivity: All content is exclusive (advertised as 100% original).
Download Limit: No information found in the terms and conditions.
Dates

Site Launched: Jul 2008
Facts Updated: 08-26-12
Listed Date: Jul '08

Content Updates

Update Log: No
Content Dated: Yes
Last Content Update:
08-24-12 (as of 08-26-12)
Details: One video/photo gallery update every Tuesday and Friday.

Company Info

JHI Media
1 Site Listed
Partner: Southern Strokes Partners

Report Errors


To understand all the info above, check out our Site Facts Glossary.


Review Our most detailed review format ever!

79.0
pretty good



Downloads:
Interface:
Pic Count:
Pic Quality:
Vid Count:
Vid Quality:
Content:

Grades have no direct impact on the overall score.

Grade Criteria


Review Log
Spencer
09-12-2012
79.0

  Visit Site


Disclaimer: TBP does make a commission from sales to this web-site. It's also how we keep our site 100% banner free. This does not affect the integrity of the review. If you found our site or this review helpful, we hope you'll support TBP by visiting this site from our link above. Thank you.
Southern Strokes Review by Spencer Southern Strokes

Review by Spencer

Released Sep 12, '12 , Written Sep 4, '12
Intro

Southern Strokes is up for review today, and this site features guys from the southern par of the USA in some fun gay action. They feature both solo and hardcore scenes here, so there should be something for everybody. Check out the tour to get an idea of what they offer. The guys are generally good looking and in shape. $27 a month gets you in the door, which I guess isn't bad, but they don't offer any network access or anything that I could see.


The Pros

  Decent-sized site.

Their site was larger than expected here, which is always a good thing. There are around 380 scenes up currently, which is more than enough to keep you busy for your first month here. Hopefully the site continues to grow going forward.

  Exclusive gay content.

They don't really get into too much niche territory here, but they do offer a solid collection of gay scenes. There's anything from solo to hardcore including some threesomes and moresomes as well. Plus, it looks like they shoot all their own material, which makes it all the better.

Other Good Stuff:

  • Updates come in twice per week here pretty consistently. I'd love to see those updates continue at that pace going forward.

The Cons

  Quality could be better.

The latest videos come in HD, which is nice to see, but even those show definite sites of over-compression and artifacts unfortunately. Once you get past the HD videos, things get even worse with smaller videos and more problems. Photos aren't terrible, but could be larger for sure (see below).

  Navigation is too simple.

For how large the site is, they could really use some more navigation features to help narrow the collection down better. I'd love some kind of category filter, or even a search setup to find certain types of scenes quickly. As it is, you just have to click around through a lot of pages till you find something you like.

Minor Negatives:

  • The pictures are all on the small side here. I'd love to see the size bumped up a bit, regardless of quality issues mentioned previously.

Bottom Line

A decent collection, though some upgrades here would definitely help the site out.

Southern Strokes looks pretty good on paper. They have exclusive gay scenes, a good-sized collection, HD videos, and regular updates. However, there are a few things that come out during the use of the site that could use some upgrades in my opinion. Even with HD quality, the quality isn't great here as a whole. The navigation and site design also need some updating to make the site look more current, and to make it easier to use. With a few tweaks, things could be good here. It's not bad for now, but if they stay too stagnant, they may get lost in the shuffle in time.

Site Details

About the Content: 
Downloadable exclusive scenes featuring guys from the south in both solo and hardcore scenes.

Download Managers: 
Yes, should work.
Channel Max: 9
Able to pause/resume.
Test Software: Speed Download

Download Speed: 
Download Mgr: 2.1MB/sec.
Browser: 1.5MB/sec.
(260MB video, 20Mbps cable internet)

Exclusive Info: 
Advertised: 100% exclusive.
My Opinion: Yes, it looks like they shoot all their own content here.

File Sizes (HQ): 
JPG = ~400KB
ZIP = ~25MB
WMV = ~250MB
MOV = ~250MB
(average size, HQ)

HD Video: 
Yes, latest videos.
File Type: WMV
Bit-Rate: 2500k
Dimensions: 1280x720
Quality: Compression artifacts are definitely noticeable.

Live Cams: 
No free live cam shows.

Logging In: 
User, pw, verification image.
Saved after closing browser.
Videos don't require pw.

Model Appearance: 
Mostly white models.
Generally semi-pro looking.
Body types from thin to muscular.

Model Info: 
200+ models total.
Ages 18-30.
Mostly U.S. based.

Other Content: 
No notable extras.

Other Details: 
Some condoms seen.
No music in most videos.

Pic Details: 
Amateur to semi-pro photography.
Little to no airbrushing.
Good lighting, bright colors.

Pic Dimensions (HQ): 
Most = 960 x 540
Sizes vary a little.

Updates in Last 7 Days: 
1 image gallery.
1 full video episode.
(on par with previous updates)


Re-Review Status
High Priority

This review is fairly high on our priority list for a new review assignment.
We do not have an active member pass required to do a new review.

Nominate!

User Feedback Most recent user reviews and comments, up to 10 each displayed.

N/A

Register to submit your reviews and comments.
Recent Reviews (0)

Score User Replies Date
90 poppilious (0) 0 07-28-08

Submit : Add ReviewAdd Comment


Comments (0)

None so far.

View All: User Reviews & Comments (0)


Outside Reviews
Scores from other online adult review sites.

Date Site Name Score
01-23-12 Gay Demon 73 of 100
12-11-13 Rabbit's Reviews 69 of 100
Average Score: 71.0

Outside Review dates and scores are submitted to us directly by the approved review site periodically. We have limited control over the scores displayed.


Contact Us - FAQ's - Glossary - Announcements - Privacy Policy - Porn Reviews - Webmasters

DISCLAIMER: ALL MODELS APPEARING ON THIS WEBSITE ARE 18 YEARS OR OLDER.

Protecting Minors
We are strong supporters of RTA and ICRA, two of the most recognized self labeling organizations. Our site is properly labeled to assist in the protection of minors accessing inappopriate content. For information about filtering tools, check this site.

To report child pornography, go directly to ASACP!  We're proud to be a corporate sponsor.
Have concerns or questions about porn addiction?  We recommend this helpful resource.

Copyright © 2003-2007 Ranks.com, Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.


Last Update: 09-12-12