Adult Site Reviews

Advanced Search

Top Company Sites

1. Skin Video 82.0
2. Amateur Hi Def 80.0

View All : Company Sites

Top Videos Sites

1. VideoBox 95.5
2. Pornstar Networ... 94.0
3. VideosZ 92.5
4. In The Crack 91.5
5. 1 By Day 91.5
6. Naughty America 91.0
7. Mr. Skin 90.0
8. 21 Sextreme 90.0
9. Tainster 90.0
10. Bangbros Networ... 90.0
11. Pix and Video 90.0
12. 21Sextury.com 89.5
13. Lesbea 89.5
14. Perfect Gonzo 89.0
15. Hog Tied 88.5

View All : Videos Sites
Related Niches

1. Reality - 569 Sites
2. DVDs - 518 Sites
3. Webcams - 510 Sites
4. High Def - 404 Sites

View All : Niches
The Best Porn » Top Porn Sites » Skin Video Review
Last Update: 06-02-14
Jump To: Site Facts - Review

Skin Video

Pay Site

This site offers a huge selection of hardcore porn movies in various niches for your viewing enjoyment.


Primary Niche: Porn Videos
Secondary Niches: DVD PornHardcore Sex

Site Facts All the glorious stats and details about skinvideo.com.

Cost & Billing

Trial: $2.95 Full Access (3 days, recurs $14.95/mo.)

Verified 03-13-13 with Skin Video.
Monthly: $14.95 (recurring)
CC Processor: No Independent Merchant
Notes: Beware: Prices go up with each additional content selection. HD videos now available in their premium membership (multi-month signup required). $20.00/mo. extra for additional content.
Screen Caps: USA Join Pages - Euro Join Pages (taken on 03-28-2013)

Videos

Quantity: 22,137+ Scenes (approx. 20 min. each)
Format #1: Flash (in-browser), 2000k, 720x480 (streaming)
Format #2: AVI (.avi), 1000k, 720x480 (downloadable)
Format #3: MP4 (.mp4, .m4v), 1000k, 720x480 (downloadable)
Notes: Formats are for latest movies and multiple bandwidths are available; older movies may have smaller/different specs.

Images

Quantity: 1,558+ Galleries (avg. 80 pics each)
Zip Files: Yes

Misc

Exclusivity: The content is not exclusive.
Download Limit: There is no download limit!
Models: 5,880 Models
Other: Vidcap galleries.
Dates

Site Launched: Dec 2005
Facts Updated: 05-27-14
Listed Date: Oct '07

Content Updates

Update Log: No
Content Dated: Yes
Last Content Update:
05-27-14 (as of 05-27-14)
Details: date/time shows a video scene update every few hours; DVD and Amateur vid counts change little.

Company Info

SVG Technology, Inc.
3 Sites Listed
Partner: Skin Video Partners

Report Errors


To understand all the info above, check out our Site Facts Glossary.


Review Our most detailed review format ever!

82.0
great



Downloads:
Streaming:
Interface:
Pic Count:
Pic Quality:
Vid Count:
Vid Quality:
Content:

Grades have no direct impact on the overall score.

Grade Criteria


Review Log
Spencer
06-02-2014
82.0
Maggie
04-21-2013
82.5
Duke
03-31-2012
81.0
Vanessa
03-13-2011
84.0
Spencer
05-07-2010
83.5
Maggie
09-10-2009
83.0

  Visit Site


Disclaimer: TBP does make a commission from sales to this web-site. It's also how we keep our site 100% banner free. This does not affect the integrity of the review. If you found our site or this review helpful, we hope you'll support TBP by visiting this site from our link above. Thank you.
Skin Video Review by Spencer Skin Video

Review by Spencer

Released Jun 2, '14 , Written May 27, '14
Intro

Skin Video is our site up for review today, and this is a pretty typical DVD mega-site when you look at the site as a whole. They have big numbers, non-exclusive content, and a lot of stuff to organize under a single roof. They have a little bit of everything in terms of hardcore content, from lesbians to anal, and everything in between. Also nice to see is the $15 price tag, which puts them in line with other similar sites out there in terms of membership price. If you want a lot of content at a low price, this could work for you.


The Pros

  Huge collection.

One of the hallmarks of these sites is the massive collection sizes, and that's the case here as well. Expect around 22,000 DVDs online, each with several scenes of course. If you're willing to put in a little time, you're sure to find some scenes you like here.

  Decent search setup.

It's not the best I've seen for what they offer, but it's a start. They have a long list of search terms divided up by categories, and you can combine (or exclude) as many as you want to make picture-perfect custom searches.

Other Good Stuff:

  • The $15 price tag is relatively low compared to a lot of porn sites out there these days at least.

The Cons

  Non-exclusive content of course.

The content here is all very generic, which is one of the main downsides of a site like this. In fact, other DVD sites out there probably offer a lot of the exact same material that you'll find here. It's not a huge deal if you're not too picky, but seasoned porn aficionados will most likely feel a bit disappointed after a while.

  Navigation could still be a little better.

While they have their good search setup and all, things still aren't quite perfect in terms of navigation. First, they separate out their HD content from their main material, so you can't exactly perform one magic search across their whole site. Second, they don't let you jump around the collection easily enough, and the layout isn't the best for such a huge site. Offering more content per page would be a big help.

  Site doesn't seem to be actually growing despite updates.

All of the content has current dates (down to the hour!) and it would appear as though they're updating regularly. However, as with so many sites these days, something is off. According to our own content counts, the site hasn't actually grown all that much in quite a long time. Are the dates fake? Do they actually add new content and then take off older material? I have no idea, but it's something to keep an eye out on.

  Quality isn't great.

As expected with non-exclusive DVD content, there's not a lot of HD material here. They do have a separate HD section, but even there, the quality is probably slightly below average for these days. Their SD downloads, which make up a large majority of their collection, look definitely behind the times.

Minor Negatives:

  • The zip files for the photo galleries were bringing up an error for me and wouldn't load.

Bottom Line

There's a ton of content at least, but compared to other similar sites, they're still a few steps behind.

If you're not that picky in terms of your porn, Skin Video could work I suppose. They offer a lot of content, some in HD even (though barely), all at a pretty low price. However, there's some good competition out there in the DVD mega-site realm, and I don't think they quite live up to that competition just yet. It's all the little things on a site like this, like the navigation/layout, trying to maximize the quality, and the other site options (downloads, streaming, etc). While they check a lot of the boxes off the list, I don't think they're quite done in the most high quality fashion. I'm being pretty picky here, as I think you could have fun, but when you offer pretty similar content to your main competitors, it's definitely a cut-throat segment of the market.

Site Details

About the Content: 
Downloadable non-exclusive hardcore DVD's in popular & specialty niche categories.

Download Managers: 
Yes, should work.
Channel Max: 10
Able to pause/resume.
Test Software: Speed Download

Download Speed: 
Download Mgr: 6.2MB/sec.
Browser: 5.2MB/sec.
(349MB video, 50Mbps cable internet)

Exclusive Info: 
Advertised: No info found.
My Opinion: Not exclusive. I've definitely seen most of the DVDs on other sites.

File Sizes (HQ): 
JPG = 100KB-3MB
Videos (AVI or WMV or other) = 100MB-1GB
(average size, HQ)

HD Video: 
Yes, some videos.
File Type: WMV and MP4
Bit-Rate: 3100k and 2200k
Dimensions: 1280x720
Quality: Compression artifacts are definitely noticeable.

Live Cams: 
No free live cam shows.

Logging In: 
Only user/pw required.
Saved after closing browser.
Videos don't require pw.
Very easy!

Model Info: 
No exclusive models.
DVD studio content.

Other Content: 
No notable extras.

Other Details: 
Some condoms seen randomly.
Soft music in some videos.

Pic Details: 
Amateur to pro photography.
Some airbrushing possible.

Pic Dimensions (HQ): 
Sizes vary a ton, even on newer sets. Some older sets are vidcaps only.

Streaming Player: 
Medium flash player.
Can jump ahead immediately.
2-3 second buffer.
Slightly jerky playback.
Okay quality.
Thumb preview as you hover over timeline.

Updates in Last 7 Days: 
Updates supposedly come every few hours for a new scene, but site doesn't seem to grow as much as expected.


Re-Review Status
Just Released!

New review published recently. Eligible for new review after Dec 2, 2014.
We have an active member pass required to do a new review.

Nominate!
  • Eligible for new review after 12-02-14.
  • Submit Nomination to improve its chance for review.

User Feedback Most recent user reviews and comments, up to 10 each displayed.

N/A

Breakdown
Reviews: 0
Comments: 4
Ratings: 0

Register to submit your reviews and comments.
Recent Reviews (0)

Score User Replies Date
75 messmer (137) 2 11-30-10
89 graymane (31) 4 07-04-10
92 RagingBuddhist (63) 0 12-12-08
69 impuls (6) 0 09-28-08
84 Pornjackker (37) 1 06-08-08
90 Bacchus (30) 2 11-01-07

Submit : Add ReviewAdd Comment


Comments (4)

Comment Title / Date
"Another search function from hell"
04-13-12 (0 Replies)
"No Rebill = No Access"
07-08-10 (3 Replies)
"Back on track, maybe - but where's the discount?"
12-11-09 (3 Replies)
"Is it getting boring?"
09-24-09 (0 Replies)

View All: User Reviews & Comments (4)


Outside Reviews
Scores from other online adult review sites.

Date Site Name Score
01-11-14 Porn Inspector 3.7 of 5
03-19-11 Honest Porn Reviews 8.4 of 10
08-06-10 FreeOnes 9 of 10
08-03-10 Rabbit's Reviews 77 of 100
Average Score: 81.3

Outside Review dates and scores are submitted to us directly by the approved review site periodically. We have limited control over the scores displayed.


Contact Us - FAQ's - Glossary - Announcements - Privacy Policy - Porn Reviews - Webmasters

DISCLAIMER: ALL MODELS APPEARING ON THIS WEBSITE ARE 18 YEARS OR OLDER.

Protecting Minors
We are strong supporters of RTA and ICRA, two of the most recognized self labeling organizations. Our site is properly labeled to assist in the protection of minors accessing inappopriate content. For information about filtering tools, check this site.

To report child pornography, go directly to ASACP!  We're proud to be a corporate sponsor.
Have concerns or questions about porn addiction?  We recommend this helpful resource.

Copyright © 2003-2007 Ranks.com, Inc. and its licensors. All Rights Reserved.


Last Update: 06-02-14